My favourite Music of 2015 Part 1: Bollywood round-up

I decided to write a round up of my favourite Music of 2015. I have listened to a lot of good (and new) Music this year and so thought it would be a good idea to share my recommendations. I know we are only in October but if I do add any more favourites to the list, rest assured this post will be updated! Part 1 focuses on Bollywood, Part 2 will be Indi-pop and Part 3 will feature Western Music!

My favourite list begins with Himeshji’s first song of the year (as a singer) – ‘Bulbul’ from the film Hey Bro. Composed by Music Directors Nitz n Sony, Himeshji bought their funky composition ‘Bulbul’ to life. The song also has female vocals by Shreya Ghoshal. This was the first upbeat and happy Bollywood song of 2015. I also enjoyed listening to the entire album of ‘Hey Bro’. Such diverse genres featuring together on one soundtrack is pretty extraordinary! My picks from the album include ‘Bulbul’ and ‘Birju’.

Following on from ‘Hey Bro’, the next song I liked (a lot) was ‘Teri Meri Kahani’ from the film soundtrack Gabbar is Back. Even though the intro guitar reminds me very much of Himeshji’s ‘Aap Ki Kashish’ (Aashiq Banaya Aapne), ‘Teri Meri Kahani’ is a love song with strong melody and lyrics and is a composition that simply flows from start to finish. Composed by Chirantan Bhatt and vocals by hit singing jodi Arijit Singh and Palak Muchhal, ‘Teri Meri Kahani’ is definitely in my favourites list of 2015!

Then came the soundtrack of NH10. Even though I listened to this album well after its release, I was floored by the incorporation of jazz and blues that found its way onto the album. My top tracks from the soundtrack are ‘Khoney De’ and ‘Chhil Gaye Naina’. Also loved ‘Maati Ka Palang’ by Samira Koppikar. I very much love the light and breezy vocals of Mohit Chauhan and Neeti Mohan when it comes to ‘Khoney De’.

There was then a huge gap before I had anymore favourites, until the soundtrack of the film ‘All is Well’. Its no surprise here, that my 3 favourite songs are ‘Baaton Ko Teri’, ‘Tu Milade’ and ‘YOLO’ all of which have been composed once again by Himesh Reshammiya (spot the theme!) For me personally, ‘Baaton Ko Teri’ is the Love Song of 2015 while ‘Tu Milade’ is the Rock Anthem of the year! While there were descrepancies (created unnecessarily by the record label) with regards to ‘YOLO’, I class it as a feel good track which lifts your spirits once you have heard it: happy Music! However, I also enjoyed ‘Char Shanivaar’ from the same soundtrack!

Next came the beautiful song ‘Hasi’ from Hamari Adhuri Kahani. I was not too keen on the songs from the overall album, but I definitely love this track (especially Shreya Ghoshal’s version). Composed by yet another newbie composer Ami Mishra, ‘Hasi’ has a simple yet haunting melody with wonderful heart touching vocals. I am currently learning to play the song on the piano!

Ending the Bollywood Music year of my favourites, with the epic album of ‘Prem Ratan Dhan Payo’. If you have read my Music review you will know why this album is a sure shot favourite, with spectacular compositions by Himesh Reshammiya who has out done himself Musically once again.

Share your favourite Bollywood songs of 2015 with me in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

