My Music Favourites: September – October 2016

I have listened to quite a number of new tracks/soundtracks over the past 2 months, and I thought it would be a good idea to share them all here! I am listing the songs/soundtracks that I have heard below and I shall talk about each in a bit more detail further in this blog post. The songs that I have been enjoying are:

*Saiyaan – SANAM band cover
*Hurts -Emeli Sandé
*Rock On 2 – Bollywood soundtrack
*Blended Family – Alicia Keys
*Bulleya – Song from the OST of the Bollywood film Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Starting with the month of September which was pretty quiet at the beginning, but blossomed mid-way with the melodious cover of ‘Saiyaan’ by the band SANAM. I have talked about SANAM band before at the blog as I love their efforts of refreshing retro Bollywood classics and they have (once again), done real justice to this Kailash Kher number.

Saiyaan – SANAM

In roughly the same week came the release of a song that I had been waiting for since last year. The immensley talented Emeli Sandé returned with the brand new single ‘Hurts’ taken from her much awaited second album ‘Long Live the Angels’. After a gap of 4 years (her first album ‘Our Version of Events released in 2012), Emeli has returned with a killer track ‘Hurts’. The song (as the title suggests), deals with the break-up effects of a long term relationship.

Hurts – Emeli Sandé

In the month of October, I listened to the R n B number ‘Blended Family’ by one of my favourite artists Alicia Keys. This is a song which talks about a different kind of family which is blended together by love. It is a heart warming listen.

Blended Family – Alicia Keys

Back to Bollywood and I surprised myself this time (!) as I couldn’t help but enjoy the passionate rock number ‘Bulleya’ from the ever-so-controversial film ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’. It is after a very long time, that I have liked a song by Music director Pritam. Amit Mishra’s raw vocals provide the aggression that is required in the song.

Bulleya – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

I also listened to the ‘Rock On 2’ soundtrack and here is my mini-review of the album: I can safely say that the album is worth a listen 😎 it is refreshing to hear an album with individual songs & not songs that ultimately ‘sound like each other as they are all in the same genre’. Tracks 1/2/4/5/6 are my favourites. You can skip 3 songs from the album (tracks 3/7/8). #ShraddhaKapoor is definitely the star ⭐️of the album 👌#FarhanAkhtar has improved but ruined #WohJahaan – should have been Shraddha’s solo only. Overall, a decent album 3.5/5.

Rock On 2

Moving on to my ‘Music to look forward to’ section and the only album that tops this list for me is the forthcoming ‘Aap Se Mausiiquii’ by my favourite Himesh Reshammiya. The album is gearing up for it’s first song to release during the first week of Novmber, and I simply cannot wait! Do come back to the blog for a full review of the album post release! In terms of songs, I am looking forward to hearing ‘Albeliya’ which has been much talked about here at my blog! I am also looking forward to a song called ‘Yaadein Bachpan Ki’ which is composed by my good friend Kary Arora.

I hope you all enjoyed reading a round-up of my current Music favourites and have also found some worthy recommendations to listen to!

Leave a Reply

