My favourite Golden Oldie: Oodhli Chunariya – Pyar Kiya Toh Darna Kya

We are at that time of the month where I share one of my favourite golden oldie songs. Last month, I shared a Western song favourite which was Holding Back the Years by one of my all time favourite bands, Simply Red. This month, I have decided to share one of my favourite Bollywood songs in order to bring some variety and also to show how diverse my musical choices can be!

So, this month my favourite golden oldie is my favourite Bollywood Music composer’s debut composition, the melodious Oodhli Chunariya from the film Pyar Kiya Toh Darna Kya.

Singers: Alka Yagnik and Kumar Sanu
Music Director: Himesh Reshammiya

Oodhli Chunariya – Pyar Kiya Toh Darna Kya

Here is a fun fact for you all: growing up in the UK meant that the only real access I had to learn about Bollywood Music, was by devouring the information presented about the artists on a CD cover (yes I grew up during the pre-internet era!) and because of this, I loved this song without knowing that one day, I would be known as the hugest female fan of the composer Himesh Reshammiya. Oodhli Chunariya is one of his finest compositions, and laid the mark of his excellent work to come! The song is beautifully picturised on Bollywood actor and Superstar Salman Khan and actress Kajol.

Let me know in the comments if you love this song too.

Leave a Reply

